It’s crazy how much things can change in one year. It’s also crazy how the Universe has a cunning little way of showing up when you set your intentions and launch your desires. 

Before I left for Guam last year, my entire spiritual practice shifted. Well, really, I think I was actually able to open myself up and commit to some form of spiritual practice rather than walking around aimlessly saying, “It is what it is.” That has lead me to a pretty in-depth self-realization of myself and a re-programming of how I want to exist. It has also lead me to using divination as a tool for self-discovery, a way to help myself heal and a pretty magnificent source to help others as well. So much so, that I have toyed around with the idea of turning that new found passion and path into it’s own blog, saying good-bye and closing the cover on Itookheravice and saying hello to the wondrous possibilities of a spiritual-based educational blog.

I will give you a small little example of why I love using these cards as a way to tap into MY divine knowing.

As has been the norm for me as of late, I go to my cards when I’m seeking just about anything. So, when I posed the question, “Universe, what do I need to know about this new venture I have swirling around in my head. A simple yes or no would be greeeeat”, I picked up my Goddess deck, began shuffling and no sooner than speaking the last word, 5 cards flew out and landed on the floor, one flying about about 10 inches past the other 4. I knew that was my card. I also already knew what was going to be on the flip-side of that card. She always shows up when something creative is on the table, something that I KNOW I “should” be doing but am procrastinating on. She also pops up to remind me that my voice is my gift and I am here to help others find theirs. She is Sarasvati.

Hindu Goddess of the arts, Sarasvati nudges us in all areas of creative expression and helps us focus our minds on our creative endeavors and not get distracted or procrastinate. Sarasvati means “the one who gives the essence of knowledge of our own selves” and is also considered to be the “Mother of the Universe”. We are all “mothers” of our own creations and this card is soooo fitting as a reminder of that.

Sarasvati

I was not surprised when I flipped it over and saw that familiar face staring back at me. Most times I see her and she’s saying, “Mercedes, dear, pick up your journal. Work on the book, DO. SOMETHING. Create.” And yes, I already knew the answer to my question as I asked it, but the confirmations the cards bring are undeniable and really give a feeling of magic and synchronicity. Who doesn’t like magic?!

In a way, I guess I dropped a bomb. I like to think of it more as a necessary and very rewarding shift. Don’t worry, my posts aren’t going to take on the “crazy lady with tight hair bun, really ugly shoes and chalkboard pointer thing” teacher persona. More of a “I love my teacher because she uses the F bombs and never makes me take tests!” Boom.

Stay tuned.

