As I was leaving the office for the day,  I got into a casual conversation with a co-worker. He asked me how the dating world had been treating me. That sparked him asking me the question, “Do you have a type?”

I stood there for a second and thought about it. I realized that I don’t think I had ever defined a particular type for myself. I mean, I have my list of deal breakers, but that’s about it. So, the only thing I could think of to say was, “Someone that’s strong and going to be a man so I can act like a woman.”  I don’t know how many freaking times I’ve said that in the past month. But, obviously I feel very strongly about it if it keeps coming up in conversation.

I got home from work and sat down to write and really thought long and hard about that question. For some reason it was really bothering me and I think I have a slight issue with the whole “having a type” premise. I’ve dated people from different backgrounds and have been very open to not narrowing the sea of potential date-ables based on some wish list I jotted down after reading cosmo.

Maybe I was just being too analytical but I needed to talk it out. So when my BFF got home I posed the question to her: “Do I have a type?”

She giggled, cocked her head to the side and gave me the look. “Ummmm yeah. Tall, witty, charming, confident and a nice smile.” It rolled off her tongue like she had it rehearsed.

Well, damn. I guess I do have a “type”. Now that I think about it, those are definitely qualities that attract me to someone. It’s all the other stuff that determines if they get nexted or not.

